Provence Marinaside

Date Visited: October 17 2014 – For Taste of Yaletown
Address: 1177 Marinaside Cres Vancouver, BC
Website: http://www.provencevancouver.com/
Type of Restaurant: French, Seafood, Mediterranean
Price Range: $$$-$$$$
Ambiance (out of five)/Setting/Design/service:
Ambiance/Setting – 4/5 – romantic, candlelight seating is comfortable design is very Mediterranean and not overly stuffy
Service – 3/5 – was slow and hard to get the waitresses attention
Overall: 6.5/10
(1-4: will never come back, 5: pass (I’m okay with a tinier morsel), 6: acceptable, 7: okay, 8: good, 9: Wow! Please enlarge my morsel. 10: Perfection. I could eat a morsel of this every day!)
Will come back? No
What I ate:
I decided to came here for Taste of Yaletown because there menu seemed pretty good and I’d never eaten here before. They two types of warmed bread with room temperature butter which was a total plus because a lot of restaurants don’t nowadays. Also there was complimentary croutons  with an olive sardine spread on the table which was equally welcomed.
Now onto the appetizers which were all very disappointing in presentation:
20141017_192733
Trio of smoked fish (Trout, mackerel, salmon, pearl onions, gherkins with mixed green salad)
  • 6/10
  • For a restaurant of this class (not to mention price), having a starter with this kind of presentation was definitely disappointing
  • The flavours of the fish was okay and the salad tasted like it was very roughly put together
  • I found the mackerel to be overly dry considering it is an oilier type of fish and the trout was nothing special
20141017_192801
Mergeuz Sausages (spicy lamb sausages with fennel in tomato sauce with mixed green salad)
  • 7/10
  • The sausages were covered in fennel tomato sauce and I had to dig around for the sausage, luckily there was a good amount of them
  • Fennel is usually used to cover the unwanted taste of the lamb flavour but I like the lamb’s pungent flavour and luckily I could still taste it
  • I enjoyed the spicy lamb sausages but I wished that the mixed green salad could have been lighter or brighter to better accompany the dark and flavourful sausages
  • Maybe the salad could have been done better with an addition of fruit or a different sauce for the salad20141017_193231
Side of Risotto Balls *This was not part of Taste of Yaletown this was just a separate order that we wanted*
  • 6/10
  • Very disappointing – the outside was barley even crispy
  • The risotto itself was definitely overcooked and it lacked texture
On to the Entrées
20141017_195835
Bouillabaisse (west coast style, prawns, scallops, mussels, clams, fish saffron potatoes, gruyere et la rouille)
  • 7.5/10
  • The bouillabaisse was quite rich and had a nice depth to it
  • The seafood was not overcooked
  • I really like the accompaniment of the gruyere et la rouille (which I forgot to take a picture of because I devoured it…)
  • The presentation of the plate could have been cleaner though
20141017_195927
Duck Confit (savoy cabbage, baby carrots, and mashed potatoes)
  • 7.5/10
  • The skin of the duck was nice and crispy but the duck meat was a bit saltier then I would have liked, when accompanied with the mash potatoes it isn’t as salty
  • The duck was also too dry
  • The carrots were too hard for my liking, I prefer a softer carrot but I guess for textural reasons it’s was a good accompaniment
  • The washed potatoes didn’t have enough butter and wasn’t as creamy as I would have enjoyed
20141017_195828
Wild Mushroom Ravioli (White wine butter sauce, garlic fresh tomato, herbs)
  • 7.5/10
  • With my first bite of the ravioli the first thing I tasted was the aroma of mushrooms that immediately surrounded my mouth
  • Unfortunately the dish in general contained too much butter making the dish heavy and oily
  • The pasta itself was cooked okay but maybe a bit over by a minute
Desserts
20141017_203948
Dessert du Jour – peach crumble with vanilla ice cream
  • 4/10
  • The worst crumble I have ever tasted in my life
  • The ratio of butter to flour to sugar to oats was just off. There was too much flour and oats which created a kind of paste when eaten
  • The peach was satisfactory though so we just ate all the peach and vanilla ice cream and left the crumble
20141017_204010
Chocolate Mousse cake – Kahlua chocolate cake layered with dark chocolate mousse
  • 7/10
  • I like the use of dark chocolate in the mousse instead of milk chocolate so it wasn’t that sweet
  • The cake layer in the middle was very thin and almost nonexistence I would have preferred it to be a little bigger
  • The dessert as a whole was missing a crunchy bit to it – an addition of nuts or a torched top or toffee – something to give it a crunch would have made it much better
20141017_204025
Crème caramel – delicate custard with a soft caramel top scented with vanilla bean
  • 7/10
  • The custard was indeed delicate and nicely executed – was very rich and creamy
  • The caramel on top was a bit too much for me and was overly sweet, it overtook the flavour of the dish and I couldn’t taste the vanilla bean
Things to Improve on: Some dishes were over salted, presentation needs to be improved, flavours of dishes needed to be enhanced. The basics need to be better understood
Summary: Service was mediocre, mains were acceptable but some dishes were just disappointing. I will definitely not be coming back and would not recommend it to others either.
Provence Marinaside Restaurant on Urbanspoon
Leave a Reply

