Baker’s Market

Date Visited: November 22 2014
Address: 7646 Prince Albert Street (60th & Fraser)
Website: http://www.bakersmarket.com
Price Range: $-$$
Background: Open November 22, 29, December 6 from 11am – 3pm
Overall: 7/10
(1-4: will never come back, 5: pass (I’m okay with a tinier morsel), 6: acceptable, 7: okay, 8: good, 9: Wow! Please enlarge my morsel. 10: Perfection. I could eat a morsel of this every day!)
Will come back? No
20141122_112957
20141122_113128
20141122_113526
What I ate:
20141122_121603
The Sweet Alleys – Banana Cupcake (http://www.thesweetalley.com/)
  • 7/10
  • Not too sweet
  • The frosting on top was just right, nice and fluffy
  • The crunchy bits on top added saltiness
  • The cupcake itself lacked depth, it tasted like bananas but wasn’t anything too special
  • I prefer denser cupcakes and this was too fluffy and soft
My Oh Mai Foods – sample of chocolate cupcake
  • 7/10
  • Not overly sweet
  • Strong chocolate flavour
  • But nothing out of the extraordinary
20141122_121431
Andrea’s Oven – Cookie http://www.andreasoven.com/
  • 6.5/10
  • Thicker than the usual sugar cookies that I eat – almost a cakey density
  • The icing tasted very generic and had a bitter flavour to it
  • But luckily it wasn’t too sweet
Livia – www.liviasweets.com
  • 8/10
  • Sampled one of their brownies
  • And I have to say, I was pretty impressed by the dark chocolate flavour
  • The brownie was the perfect density, chewy and heavy just like a brownie should be
  • But a bit on the sweeter side
20141122_121700
The Salty Cookie Co.-Salty brown sugar cookie https://www.facebook.com/thesaltycookieco
  • 7.5/10
  • The saltiness of the cookie was the perfect amount to off put the sweetness
  • The middle was nice and chewy – my favourite kind
  • I would have preferred if the outside was a bit more crispy
20141122_121536(0)
J’adore les macarons -Croissant http://www.jadorelesmacarons.com/
  • 8/10
  • Although they are famous for their macarons, I thought their croissants looked good so I tried one
  • They were nice and flaky like I predicted and the inside was well cooked
  • But not one of the best croissants I’ve ever tasted
  • The butter flavour was not prominent enough
Summary: Wish there were some people selling bread or salty flavours. A lot of the bakeries were selling the same kind of things.
Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

