Banh Mi Saigon

Date Visited: May 2 2015 – the last day of the grand opening special of 20% off food!
What I ate:
20150502_122835
Cold Cut
  • 8/10
  • This was my favourite out of all of them
  • Good amount of flavour from the fat from the cold cuts – the fat melted in my mouth which added umaminess
  • Good ratio of filling to bread
Special
  • 7/10
  • There was a lot of filling in this one but I thought it was a bit overwhelming
  • Nothing really stood out for me in this sandwich, there was a good amount of meatball and mayonnaise though
Bacon
  • 7.5/10
  • This one is similar to the cold cut but with the addition of bacon
  • It’s not as flavourful as the cold cut and also had a fair amount of mayo
20150502_114424
Iced Coffee with condensed milk
  • 7/10
  • Very strong like the typical Vietnamese coffee you get anywhere
  • I liked that the ice was broken up and not big huge chunks of ice
  • Good amount of condensed milk
Address: 5397 Victoria Dr Vancouver, BC V5P3V6
Type of Restaurant: Sandwiches, Vietnamese, coffee
Price Range: $
Recommended: Cold Cut
Overall: 7.5/10
Will come back? Maybe if I’m in the area
Things to Improve on: If customers are eating it in-store, it would be nice if the bun was heated because when I went to heat it up at home the bread tasted much better than when it was cold
Summary: Banh Mi Saigon make their bread in house and it’s very fresh, but I still prefer the bread that they use at Au Petite Café because it’s lighter and crispier. I do enjoy the fillings a lot at Banh Mi Saigon and my favourite sandwich is the cold cut. The lines were long the day I went, which was a Saturday, and it took around 20 minutes to get it. I would go back for the fillings.
Click to add a blog post for Banh Mi Saigon on Zomato
Banh Mi Saigon on Urbanspoon
3 thoughts on “Banh Mi Saigon

Add yours

  1. I’m an Australian living in Sai Gon and was just talking to my colleagues about the popularity of Viet cuisine my home country and became curious about it in other Western countries. I figured it would be pretty popular in Canada given your large Vietnamese population; looks like I was correct.

    Thanks for the post, enjoy your banh mi!

    Like

    1. Yeah it’s definitely very popular here in Vancouver. We have a pretty large Vietnamese population here in Canada. I hope one day I’ll get the chance to go abroad and try authentic Vietnamese food. Thanks for your interest!

      Happy eating and travels!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

