My Current Situation

If you haven’t noticed already from my Instagram, I’m currently not in Vancouver. I’m on exchange in Hong Kong.

20150827_184117

It’s been a month and a half and it’s really been an emotional rollercoaster. Getting settled, calming down and getting use to the environment. I’m only here for 3 months and it’s already half over but hey, better late than never right?

Now why Hong Kong of all places? Just why? And why in your final year of university?

It’s polluted, it’s filled with inequality, filled with people. What is there in Hong Kong?

To be honest, my first choice was Singapore, but THAT didn’t work out so Hong Kong it was.

20150828_192306

Hong Kong has a very international reputation. The cuisine is versatile (very important for a foodie) and I mean when else would I get to live in such an expensive place for a cheap price like I do now. It’s in the middle of Asia, making it easy to travel to other places and it would be great to experience the culture.

DSCN0178

Going on exchange was always a top priority for me in university. But after the first few years, I must admit, I’ve lost my way. I forgot my aspirations. I’ve lost my inspiration.

20150831_171454(0)

Hopefully exchanging to Hong Kong will help me put things into perspective and allow me to know myself better.

DSCN0226 DSCN0263 DSCN0276

I want to make new friends, learn new things, use different language to communicate and most importantly eat.

DSCN0367 DSCN0420

Now don’t get the wrong impression, just because Hong Kong is in Asia doesn’t mean food is cheap. After the first few weeks I realized wow. If I’m not careful I could easily spend away all my money.

DSCN0468

Groceries aren’t cheap, I’m unable to afford the same types of food I was able to back home (like CHEESE I’m still having withdrawals).

But on the plus side, there’s so much to explore.

Temples, hiking, outer island, 18 different districts, local culture.

DSCN0540

It’s a modern city with really a lot of history not in terms of time but in terms of its experiences. It’s identity.

I love being a tourist.

DSCN9934 DSCN0032

Even when I’m in Vancouver, I love grabbing my DSLR and capturing the city from a perspective of a tourist in Granville island and also down a sketchy street in Chinatown.

Now forgive me, unfortunately I don’t have my DSLR with me so bare with me through my crappy phone pictures.

Now I’ve made it all the way to the other side of the world

I’m looking for my own identity, just like how Hong Kong is.

DSCN0591

One thought on “My Current Situation

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

