Coco et Olive

THIS IS NOT A RANT.

So. This is the deal. Every time I visit Main street, I was take a peak inside Coco et Olive in hopes that I would find that AMAZING chocolate cake I had there oh so long ago in 2012.

It was THE chocolate cake and I would rave to everyone about how good it was. More importantly it was also Flourless, so it was kinda of guilt free (cough cough not really).

I was just passing by like some other day and after trying to hunt it down for so long, I had some what lost fate at finding it ever again. But then that day, I will always remember, Friday August 14 at around 4:20pm, I was passing by and just glanced at it while walking briskly.

I spotted it.

There.

In the display.

I took a double take and walked backwards.

I had. Finally. Found the cake. FINALLY

I walked in. Taking deep deep breaths

The couple in front of me was making small talk with the owner and I was really getting impatient (and hoping that they don’t order the last 3 pieces of the cake).

Finally, the owner noticed my impatiet-ness and took my order

I calmy (not really), said “May I please have one, no two pieces of flour free chocolate cake”

She packed them up for me with some caramel sauce without the whipped cream (because I would be eating it like an hour later)

Okay, I walked to my friends house and finally the time had come

The verdict

Would it taste AS HEAVENLY as before??

Answer:

Unfortunately, no.

You probably saw that coming, I had hyped it up so much in my mind after the first time that it held a special place in my heart. Nothing would ever stand up to that ideal anymore.

11911912_10153564806894275_1054698068_n

No Flour Chocolate cake

  • 7/10
  • Very rich and a little too sweet
  • Had like a mousse like flavour
  • Very strong chocolate depth
  • A bit of bitterness from the chocolate
  • Creamy and smooth

BEFORE:

  • 8.5/10
  • Rich. But not TOO rich
  • Just the right amount of sweetness
  • Good amount of chocolate flavour
  • Not so mousse, more light and slightly heavier

I guess that just teaches me that I need to stop hyping everything up. I need to clear my mind.

Food is about who you eat it with, who you experience it with and the memories that are attached to it.

If its not the same, the food may not taste as good.

Food memories are not always the same. It depends on the people your with, the surroundings your in and your current feelings.

Click to add a blog post for Coco Et Olive on Zomato

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

