Wednesday Foodie Getaway: Off the Grid Waffle + La Taqueria

This weekend, I visited a few places, La Taqueria, On Yogurt and Off the Grid.

La Taqueria is one of Vancouver’s favourite Mexican taco places. They sell soft shells tacos of many varieties. Vegan, Beef, Chicken, Pork, Seafood, you name it. This is my second time here but after a 4 year hiatus. I visited the Cambie location again because it’s the most convenient one.

Am0M5InBsb4RfVGoRdSN24Lh3RYrai_nCIZFIYJyw8A7

I had the 4 meat tacos and to be honest they all tasted pretty similar. I choose the Da Cachete, De Lengua, Al Pastor (which was a little too wet) and Tinga de Pollo (I didn’t really like the cheese on top). I always find that their shells are a bit too floury for me. I tried all the sauces and my favourite of course was the chipotle. My least favourite was the habanero because I had no idea it was going to be that spicy (or more like I had squeezed too much onto it). The flavours were overall pretty good, nothing that was too disgusting. I found a few of them too oily for my liking though or too watery to a point where it was straight up dripping from my hand.

Overall: 7/10

12557139_558720397635263_2096414161_o

Off the Grid Waffles is one of the new editions that opened last year. They do milkshakes, warm milk, and savoury and sweet waffles.

I had the green tea milkshake, California waffle and the banana Nutella waffle.

12517165_558720040968632_997713675_o

The green tea milkshake was presented beautifully with marshmallows, green tea pocky and a quarter of a waffle. I thought the presentation was on point. But the flavours however were disappointing. The green tea was lost in the sweetness of the sugar and milk. The texture was not too thick or thin which was good but it was too sweet for my liking.

Rating: 6/10

12510689_558719860968650_16745581_o

The California waffle was the favourite of the day, with a generous helping of fake crab meat. I thought that the mayo overpowered it a little bit but I liked the addition of the corn to give it a little crunch and sweetness. The waffle itself was warm and fluffy with a bit of crispness but it was too one dimensional and on the sweeter side.

Rating: 7/10

12511387_558720104301959_1154750933_o

The banana Nutella waffle was sweet from the Nutella but an exceptable amount of sweetness. They balanced the banana ratio to the Nutella ratio nicely and the waffle was nice and crunchy but a little too dry for my liking.

Rating: 6.5/10

In my opinion, Off the Grid, is an acceptable waffle place but they don’t have any combinations that are extremely innovate or intriguing in terms of sweet waffles, which may influence my decision on whether or not I would want to come back.

Also the flavours and textures of the waffles are also lacking.

Overall rating: 6.5/10

Off The Grid Waffles Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

 

Leave a Reply

