Hot Chocolate Festival 1st Stop: Mink Chocolates

 

I had the “THE VOICES IN MY HEAD TELL ME THIS AIN’T NO B.S.”

(Organic butternut squash and almond milk with 70% dark chocolate hot chocolate.

Served with a smoked oyster. It’s available: January 16 – February 14.)

At first, I was hesitant to combine chocolate with a smoked oyster but it actually works. I mean if I really thought about it, it would make sense. Because oysters have often been served with chocolate sauce but hot chocolate just seemed weird to me.

rsz_img_3996

So how did it taste? Well actually it wasn’t half bad. The smoked oyster added a bit of smokiness when combined with the hot chocolate and made it not too sweet. The organic butternut squash unfortunately was not prominent in taste, but it added a nice thickness to the hot chocolate. The almond’s in the almond milk was not very noticeable either but also added a bit to the thickness. I enjoyed the texture of this hot chocolate and it was not too sweet.

I would have preferred if the dark chocolate was darker like maybe 80% would have made it less sweet. Also since it emphasis butternut squash and almond milk, I would expect to get hints of these two flavors. The almond milk was slightly there, but the butternut squash was really lost.

Overall – I enjoyed the smoked oyster and chocolate combination. It was interesting and the thickness was just up my alley.

Rating: 7/10

Mink Chocolates Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

