Coffee Monday at Platform 7 on Broadway

 

Platform 7 second shop opened on Broadway and it’s a pretty busy shop at all times of the day. The shops vibe is busier that their first shop on Hastings I would say. But the décor is very similar to the first shop.

It was difficult for me to decide what to get. Do I stick with the usual latte or cappuccino for a nice Instagram picture? Or do I go with a drip coffee or maybe something different like a cold brew coffee? At the end of the day, I decided on something that they don’t usually offer at coffee shops which is a Stumptown Milkshake which consists of 2 shots of espresso, vanilla ice cream and vanilla syrup.

DSCN1372

The Stumptown Milkshake was pretty good. You could definitely taste the espresso shot in it but also it was very creamy and luscious. For me personally, I would have preferred a little more coffee flavour (but that’s only because I like strong coffees). It’s definitely a drink that makes you keep wanting to drink it. It was a little too sweet for me but other than that it was pretty good.

Rating: 8/10

DSCN1371

I also ordered a slice of salted caramel apple pie because it looked really good in the glass case but it was kind of a disappointment. The piece of pie itself was heated in the microwave and served with whipping cream on the side. There was a good amount of apple in the pie but I could not taste the salt at all. The apples were well coated in cinnamon and surprisingly not too sweet. There was a bit too much apple for me. The ratio of pie to apple was a bit lacking. The crust was not as flaky and as buttery as I would have liked.

 

Rating: 6/10

Overall: I thought that Platform 7 is definitely a great place to chill with friends and also to get some work done. The music may be a little louder in some parts of the coffee shop but I thought the choice of music was really good. It catered to all kinds of people.

Rating: 7.5/10

I would come back to have the Stumptown Milkshake again and maybe try some of their sandwiches and baked goods.

Platform 7 Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

