Coffee Drank in Hong Kong Part 2

rsz_thumb_dscn0501_1024

 Here we continue on our caffeinated journey. A newer kid on the block or should I say Kennedy Town district is – Lex Coffee. I passed by this coffee shop a lot when going grocery shopping and finally I decided to go one day. I definitely picked the wrong day. There were so many people that I ended up waiting AN HOUR for my visit AN HOUR! That’s ridiculous. Okay enough of my rant on the time. The coffee itself was mediocre (again). But the pasta was quite nice. It was simple, not too oily and quite flavourful. Not bad. Rating: 7/10 – Not for coffee. I would want to go back and try their desserts though because they looked really pretty.

rsz_dscn0098

Next up – a coffee shop in Sai Ying Pun called Opendoor coffee is quite far from the MTR station but it’s a nice and quite place to study if you need it. The sandwich I had was pretty normal. It just had lettuce and a bit of ham – it was also quite small which was disappointing. The coffee was again, not great. Rating: 6.5/10

Okay – Hong Kong is filled with gimmicks because gimmicks sell in Hong Kong. Whatever people see on social media – they get sucked into it and visit the place. Or a place decides to copy another places gimmick. I’m sad to say, that I got sucked into this and ended up visiting one of those place just because of an Instagram. RC Café makes 3D latte art and they are ridiculously cute with different flavours. Hello kitty was rose flavour and the bear was just regular latte. Overall: 7/10

Hong Kong is definitely in a green tea phase all the time. Whether it be ice cream, pastries, drinks, you name it, there will definitely be some kind of green tea element somewhere. Sinmei has been getting a lot of visits because of their green tea themed place. I got green tea brownies, with green tea latte and green tea cheesecake. The verdict – it wasn’t green tea enough. I like my green tea strong and whether it was the brownie or the green tea cheesecake – the green tea was not strong enough. The drinks on the other hand were quite strong on the green tea and weren’t too sweet which was good. Overall: 7/10

rsz_dscn9948

Teakha – another green tea place but situated in Sai Ying Pun/HKU area – is also gaining popularity. So much so, that it’s opened 2 shops already. I had the green tea cheesecake, yin yang coffee and croque madame. The green tea cheesecake was pretty good. It had a strong green tea flavour and a strong cheesecake flavour. The crust was, however, lacking which was the only flaw it had. The salted yin yang coffee was also pretty good. You could taste the coffee and the tea and above all the salt as well. I thought it was a little too sweet for my liking though. Overall: 8/10

Last but not least – a coffee shop in Kennedy Town – Waffling Beans. Where we had the waffles (because of their name). The coffee itself was not bad. Nice and strong. The waffles on the other hand was quite dry and unappealing.

There you have it. Those are all the coffee shops that I ventured to and spent a good 2-3 hours at each. There are of course others out there that I didn’t get to go to because the main reason I went to these places was to blog and to get some work done. But some of them just looked too small to actually work in, especially since I wasn’t going to these places by myself. I really wanted to visit other place liked 18 grams, Mansons lot and Rabbithole. But ran out of time or felt like they were too popular for me to go and spend a good 2-3 hours in.

Leave a Reply

