Wednesday Foodie Getaway at Ramen Gojiro

I ventured over to Ramen Gojiro to try their ramen after seeing all the photos on Instagram. I’ve been wanting to go ever since their soft opening but finally found time to go recently. We walked in and were able to snag the last table before waiting for the next round. Another 5 minutes passed and there was a line out of the door. It was a consistent line that stayed the same length and didn’t get any longer. The wait was actually quiet long for the ramen itself.

We ordered the chicken karage ramen basic and the spicy chashu.

rsz_thumb_img_4354_1024

The chicken karage ramen was – okay. The flavours of the soup itself were not particularly strong or anything and I couldn’t really taste anything appalling but nothing amazing either. But one things for sure, its not the best ramen soup in downtown. The chicken karaage itself was pretty crispy with a medium thin batter and it was pretty juicy. The noodles itself were thick but I thought they could have been bouncier.

Rating: 6/10

rsz_thumb_img_4352_1024

The spicy chashu ramen broth was a bit oiler than I had expected it to be. The mild spicy kicks you in the back of the throat but it isn’t anything too extreme. The soup itself again was very light and garlicy. The chashu was nice and fatty and I enjoyed it. The noodles again were thick noodles which I like but again they could have been bouncier.

Rating: 6/10

Overall: The meal itself, left me quiet thirsty which leads me to think that there might have been too much salt? I thought the soup base was really lacking in depth. I liked the thickness of the noodles but they weren’t bouncy enough for me. I would not go back for the ramen. Rating: 6/10

 

Ramen Gojiro Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

