Desserts Sweetened in Hong Kong Part 3

Welcome to part 3 of Desserts Sweetened in Hong Kong! This is the final leg of the Hong Kong food exploration and obviously the sweetest.

Looking for another egg waffle fusion place, here’s Oddies. They’ve been hyped up on all sorts of social media. But are they worth the hype? Personally, I feel like they aren’t. The flavour combinations they have are interesting but the actual egg waffle is not cooked well and the sweetness levels are a little high for me.

Rating: 6/10

rsz_dscn0914

As an exchange student in Hong Kong, Ozone is a mandatory stop on our bucket list. It’s the best and the highest view you will get of the Hong Kong Island. The drinks can be quite pricey, but it’s quite romantic and the view is pretty good on a clear day. But be forewarned, it can get quite chilly outside during the winter season.

Rating: 7/10

rsz_dscn0803

Another place that was on the bucket list would be the Peninsula in Tsim Sha Tsui. Although it can be a little pricey, I think its worth it. The atmosphere, the service and the mini sandwiches make the place so enjoyable. Even though there can be a bit of a wait at times, it’s nice to get to relax in a setting like this.

Rating: 7.5/10

One of my favourite dessert place that I’ve been to in Hong Kong is definitely, Cong Sou Desserts in Causeway Bay. The line may look intimidating, but it goes by very quickly. The mango custard dessert is my favourite because of the multiple layers it has. It’s icy, smooth and sweet and tangy. Just amazing. I would definitely want to try other desserts from this place, too bad I found it so late in my journey abroad.

Rating: 8.5/10

rsz_20150918_203752

One of the places that a lot of people recommend for egg tarts is Tai Cheong. But personally I found it to be just okay. It wasn’t anything special or very well done. I found that the egg custard could have been less sweet and eggier.

Rating: 6.5/10

Teawood, which originated from Taiwan, has quite a few locations in Hong Kong. I visited the one in Mongkok. I thought the food and drinks looked really nice, but the overall flavours were mediocre. They weren’t amazingly well done or anything. They were just okay.

Rating: 6.5/10

If you are a green tea fan or a hojicha fan you should check out Via Tokyo. They only serve Hojicha on Wednesdays in Causeway Bay, so it makes it feel more special. I personally prefer the Hojicha over the matcha flavour. Their Hojicha with coffee jelly parfait was my favourite dessert from them so far.

Rating: 8/10

rsz_20150831_214200

On a separate day, I had wanted to visit Via Tokyo, but I saw a line so I decided to visit Waffils next door instead. This place was totally not worth it. The portions were small and the waffles were not done well. The balance of flavours was okay but other than that nothing really stood out.

Rating: 6.5/10

rsz_dscn0072

And finally, what would a visit to Hong Kong be without trying Yee Shun. They are known for their silky milk puddings and ginger puddings. I thought they were quite smooth but could have been smoother. They are also on the pricier side of local desserts.

Rating: 7/10

Well, I hope you’ve enjoyed all my food adventures I’ve shared with you. That concludes all the foodie places I went to around Hong Kong. If there are any questions you have about any of the places I’ve mentioned here, please feel free to email or comment below and I’ll be happy to answer.

 

Here’s the end of another chapter in my life.

Thanks for reading,

Sincerely,

Justamorsel~

Leave a Reply

