Wednesday Foodie Getaway at Jam Cafe

Jam Café has been making a lot of noise this week. Especially with their opening on Beatty street and the long lines on the weekends.

Jam Café is originally from Victoria and now they finally have a location here.

I arrived around 11:30am on a Monday and there were a few people outside but we were able to be seated immediately because we were a small party. After a while there were even empty seats inside so come on a weekday because there’s less people, well for now anyways.

thumb_DSCN0031_1024

I started with a drink which was strawberry lemonade. I thought the lemonade itself was pretty good but there wasn’t much strawberry taste which was disappointing.

6/10 – would not order again

The menu is pretty big and consists of quiet a few items. Some of them are pretty similar to others and I spent a large amount of my time deciding what to get. I wanted to try the chicken and waffles but I also wanted to get the old town breakfast because it sounded pretty good. I also debated between the Charlie bowl because I had read a lot about it but I also wanted to get some chorizo for breakfast. I also wanted pancakes and French toast. There was so much to choose from and I was way too overwhelmed. At the end of the day, I finally decided on The Gravy Coupe which consisted of a buttermilk biscuit topped with fried chicken, house sausage gravy and two sunny side eggs, served with a side of hashbrowns.

So after all that deliberation how was it and was I disappointed?

thumb_DSCN0039_1024

The buttermilk biscuit was fairly dense. It lacked butteriness and flakiness that I crave from a buttermilk biscuit. It was very heavy so after a few bites, I was starting to get very full. The house sausage gravy was pretty flavourful. It’s not your typical package gravy that’s watery and tastes like straight up salt. This was peppery and savoury and rich. The fried chicken itself was fairly crunchy and again like the gravy was well seasoned. It had some good flavours and the crust was crunchy but the crust came off the chicken too easily. Once I put my knife into it it separated from the chicken itself. The chicken was somewhat dry, not so dry that I was annoyed with it, but dry enough that I was noticed. The combination of gravy, chicken, eggs and biscuit was good because the gravy flavours would soak into the chicken and biscuit and the eggs would give it that runniness, the chicken would give it that crunch. The hashbrowns were okay. Not crispy, they were very plain and lacked crunch. The overall dish lacked some sort of freshness to it. It was overly heavy and got kind of tiring after a while.

7/10 – I would not get this one again. The flavours were okay but not a satisfying brunch overall.

The service at this place was great. It was friendly, not overbearing, and they just made you feel as if you were right at home. The atmosphere was also not too loud, just right for some brunch gossip.

Overall: I would give Jam Café a 7/10 because the flavours of the food were okay and the service was pretty good.

Would I be back? – Potentially to try other items on the menu
Jam Café Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

